Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel is committed to protecting the privacy of our customers and regards this as an integral part of the service we provide you. Each employee is responsible for ensuring the confidentiality of all personal information they may access. In addition, every employee annually signs a code of conduct, which includes provisions on the protection of personal information, and signs our privacy and corporate information securities policies.


We want you to understand:
• What is meant by personal information;
• Why we collect and use your personal information;
• Why we ask others for information about you;
• How we protect your information;
• Your right to access your information; and
• How your concerns may be addressed.



Personal Information
Personal information refers to information that identifies you. It may include information such as your age, marital status, employment history, social insurance number, credit history, home address, personal e-mail address and home telephone number.


Why do we need your personal information?
We require your personal information in order to establish a relationship with you, meet our fiduciary obligations, and provide you with the best possible service - the better we know you, the better we can serve you. Your signature, financial history, current financial position, social insurance number, age, investment objectives and risk tolerances, and other similar personal information allow us to:
• Establish your identity;
• Understand and assess your eligibility for our services;
• Understand your needs to ensure we may offer you appropriate services to meet those needs;
• Protect you and us from error and fraud; and
• Comply with the law.


How do we obtain your personal information?
Personal information is obtained primarily from you, although we may also obtain information from other sources with your consent. These other sources may include, but are not limited to, your accountant, financial advisor, other AGF affiliates, credit bureaus, other financial institutions, etc.


How do we use your personal information?
The information we ask for depends on the product or service you want. For every product and service we require your name, address and certain information to identify you. Before or at the time of collecting any personal information we will advise you of the purpose for the collection. Use of your information may include the following purposes:
• To ensure our records are accurate;
• To establish and administer your account;
• To execute transactions or provide you with the desired service;
• To maintain, store, record and determine your account records;
• To verify previously given information when necessary;
• To provide you and your representatives with account information;
• To support your investment needs;
• To assess your eligibility for a particular service;
• To protect the interests of Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel, such as the collection of a debt owed; and
• To meet legal, fiduciary and regulatory requirements, for example, Canada Customs and Revenue Agency's income reporting requirements.

Back to Top


Who do we disclose your personal information to?
Your personal information will only be used for the purposes stated at the time of its collection to assist us in providing you with the best possible service. To meet your service requirements, Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel may also provide your personal information to other third parties. Third parties that may be provided with your personal information include:
• Your financial representative (e.g. accountant);
• Other financial institutions, including credit bureaus;
• Affiliates of AGF Management Limited;
• Third-party service providers, who provide administrative and other services to our firm;
• Canadian governments, government agencies and regulators; and
• Any other legally required institutions.

Contracts between Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel and third-party service providers ensure appropriate controls and protections and are in place at the service provider level to protect your personal information. Our service providers may, from time to time, sub-contract certain administrative services to other service providers that may not reside in Canada and require access to certain personal information to perform contracted services. In this case, Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel service providers are responsible for ensuring appropriate security measures and controls are in place to protect your personal information from unauthorized use, loss, theft, alteration and destruction.


Disclosing your personal information when required or permitted by law:
Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel may be required to provide your personal information in response to a search warrant, order to produce information or any other legally valid demand or inquiry. We may also disclose your personal information to help us collect a debt owed by you.


Obtaining Your Consent
Before we provide you with services you may be required to complete account-opening documentation, including "Know Your Client" information. This documentation identifies how the personal information you provide will be used. You provide your consent when you sign and return this documentation. Also, consent may be obtained verbally at the time you provide us with your personal information. Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel will not use your personal information without first obtaining your consent, and will only use it for the purposes stated at the time of collection.


Withdrawing your consent:
You may withdraw your consent for the use of your personal information by contacting Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel at any time. Legal and other requirements may prevent you from withdrawing consent and your decision to withdraw personal information may also limit the services or products Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel is able to provide to you.

Back to Top


Why we ask others for information about you:
With your consent, we may obtain information about you from third parties. Obtaining additional information from third parties helps us determine your eligibility for our services. It also gives us access to the information necessary to provide you with the material or assistance you request.
For example, to transfer securities in kind we need to communicate with your broker and/or custodian. We may also need to assess the value and suitability of securities to be transferred. For this reason, we may contact other financial institutions to provide us with the relevant information. We may also contact other third parties to verify information you have provided.


Access to and accuracy of your personal information:
Upon request Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel will provide you with access to your personal information. In addition, we may provide you with a list of third parties to whom your personal information was given. Contact our Privacy Officer by fax or by mail as noted below.

You may request to update your personal information. We may not update or change personal information unless it is necessary to fulfill the purposes for which it was collected.

In certain circumstances Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel may not be able to provide you with certain information. For example: (i) information containing references to other persons (ii) information containing propriety information confidential to Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel or its affiliates (iii) information that has been destroyed or (iv) information that is too costly to retrieve.


Where is your personal information kept?
Your personal information may be kept in electronic or paper format in the offices of Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel, its affiliates or its third party service providers. Your information may also be kept in off-site storage facilities. Our service providers may, from time to time, sub-contract certain administrative services to other service providers that may not reside in Canada and require access to certain personal information to perform contracted services.


Protecting Your Information
Policies, procedures, guidelines, and safeguards have been put in place at Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel to ensure your personal information is protected in accordance with all applicable privacy legislation, including the Federal legislation known as the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act.

We have thorough standards to protect our systems against unauthorized access, use alteration, duplication, destructions, disclosure, loss or theft.

Our employees, who are bound by our Code of Conduct, Corporate Information Security Policy and Privacy Policy, and our service providers, have access to your personal information to enable them to perform their duties in servicing you. We have guidelines in place to ensure our service providers, agents and affiliates meet our security standards and as part of their contracts with us they are bound to keep your information confidential.

Any personal information collected from you will only be used for the purposes identified at the time of collecting the information and will be retained for as long as is necessary to fulfill the service, or as required by law.

Security measures including passwords, restricted access to our offices and records, physical access security, and file encryption have been put in place to protect your information against unauthorized access, modification, loss, theft or general misuse.

Back to Top



Complaints

Clients may direct any complaints relating to the account to their relationship manager, senior complaints officer and/or the compliance officer by submitting the complaint to info@doherty.ca.  For privacy complaints, escalate to privacy@agf.com. Independent dispute resolution services, in the event of unresolved complaints, is available free of charge and coordinated by Doherty's Chief Compliance Officer.




Resolving your complaints: 

If you have a complaint about our services or a product, contact us at:

Doherty & Associates Ltd
56 Sparks Street, Suite 700
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 1A9
info@doherty.ca

You may want to consider using a method other than email for sensitive personal information.

Tell us

• what went wrong
• when it happened
• what you expect, for example, money back, an apology, account correction

 

Help us resolve your complaint sooner

• Make your complaint as soon as possible.
• Reply promptly if we ask you for more information
• Keep copies of all relevant documents, such as letters, emails and notes of conversations with us

 

We will acknowledge your complaint

We will acknowledge your complaint in writing, as soon as possible, typically within 5 business days of receiving your complaint. We may ask you to provide clarification or more information to help resolve your complaint.

 

Back to Top

We will provide our decision

We normally provide our decision in writing, within 90 days of receiving a complaint. It will include:

• a summary of the complaint • the results of our investigation
• our decision to make an offer to resolve the complaint or deny it, and an explanation of our decision

If our decision is delayed

If we cannot provide you with our decision within 90 days, we will:

• inform you of the delay
• explain why our decision is delayed, and
• give you a new date for our decision

 

You may be eligible for the independent dispute resolution service offered by the Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments (OBSI)

 

If you are not satisfied with our decision

You may be eligible for OBSI’s dispute resolution service.

 

If you are a Québec resident

You may consider the free mediation service offered by the Autorité des marchés financiers.

 

A word about legal advice

You always have the right to go to a lawyer or seek other ways of resolving your dispute at any time. A lawyer can advise you of your options. There are time limits for taking legal action. Delays could limit your options and legal rights later on.  

Taking your complaint to OBSI

You may be eligible for OBSI’s free and independent dispute resolution service if:

• we do not provide our decision within 90 days after you made your complaint, or
• you are not satisfied with our decision

 

OBSI can recommend compensation of up to $350,000.

 

OBSI’s service is available to clients of our firm. This does not restrict your ability to take a complaint to a dispute resolution service of your choosing at your own expense, or to bring an action in court. Keep in mind there are time limits for taking legal action.

Back to Top

Who can use OBSI

You have the right to use OBSI’s service if:

• your complaint relates to a trading or advising activity of our firm or by one of our representatives
• you brought your complaint to us within 6 years from the time that you first knew, or out to have known, about the event that caused the complaint, and
• you file your complaint with OBSI according to its time limits below

 

Time limits apply

• If we do not provide you with our decision within 90 days, you can take your complaint to OBSI any time after the 90-day period has ended.
• If you are not satisfied with our decision, you have up to 180 days after we provide you with our decision to take your complaint to OBSI.

 

Filing a complaint with OBSI

 

Contact OBSI

Email: ombudsman@obsi.ca

Telephone: 1-888-451-4519 or 416-287-2877 in Toronto

 

OBSI will investigate

OBSI works confidentially and in an informal manner. It is not like going to court, and you do not need a lawyer.

During its investigation, OBSI may interview you and representatives of our firm. We are required to cooperate in OBSI’s investigations.

 

Information OBSI needs to help you

OBSI can help you best if you promptly provide all relevant information, including:

• your name and contact information
• our firm’s name and contact information
• the names and contact information of any of our representatives who have been involved in your complaint
• details of your complaint
• all relevant documents, including any correspondence and notes of discussions with us

 

OBSI will provide its recommendations

Once OBSI has completed its investigation, it will provide its recommendations to you and us. OBSI’s recommendations are not binding on you or us.

OBSI can recommend compensation of up to $350,000. If your claim is higher, you will have to agree to that limit on any compensation you seek through OBSI. If you want to recover more than $350,000, you may want to consider another option, such as legal action, to resolve your complaint.

For more information about OBSI, visit www.obsi.ca

Back to Top

Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel s’engage à protéger la vie privée de ses clients et considère que cela fait partie des services qu'elle vous offre. Il incombe à tous les employés de protéger la confidentialité de tous les renseignements personnels auxquels ils ont accès. De plus, tous les ans chaque employé signe un code de déontologie qui comprend des dispositions au sujet de la protection des renseignements personnels, en plus de signer notre politique de confidentialité et de protection des renseignements concernant la société. 

Il nous importe de clarifier :
• Ce que nous entendons par renseignements personnels;
• Pourquoi nous recueillons et utilisons des renseignements personnels;
• Pourquoi nous recueillons des renseignements à votre sujet auprès d’autres personnes;
• Comment nous protégeons les renseignements qui vous concernent;
• Vos droits quant à l’accès à vos renseignements personnels; et
• Comment nous faire part de vos questions.





Renseignements personnels 
Les renseignements personnels sont des informations qui permettent de vous identifier. Ils comprennent votre âge, votre situation familiale, vos antécédents de travail, votre numéro d'assurance sociale, vos antécédents de crédit, votre adresse domiciliaire, votre adresse électronique et votre numéro de téléphone à domicile.


Pourquoi avons-nous besoin de vos renseignements personnels?  
Nous avons besoin de vos renseignements personnels afin d'établir une relation avec vous et de vous fournir le meilleur service possible – plus nous en savons sur vous, mieux nous pouvons vous servir. Votre signature, vos antécédents financiers, votre situation financière, votre numéro d'assurance sociale, votre âge et d'autres renseignements personnels du même genre nous permettent de :

• Vous identifier;
• Comprendre et évaluer votre admissibilité à nos services;
• Comprendre vos besoins pour s’assurer que nous vous offrons des services qui répondent à ces besoins;
• Vous protéger et nous protéger contre les erreurs et la fraude; et
• Nous conformer à la loi.




Comment obtenons-nous vos renseignements personnels? 
En règle générale, nous obtenons ces renseignements directement de vous. Cependant, avec votre consentement, nous pouvons aussi obtenir des renseignements d'autres sources qui peuvent comprendre, mais sans s'y limiter, votre comptable, votre conseiller financier, d'autres filiales d'AGF, des agences d'évaluation du crédit, d'autres établissements financiers, etc.


Comment utilisons-nous vos renseignements personnels?  
Les renseignements que nous recueillons dépendent des produits et des services que vous demandez. Pour chaque produit ou service, nous avons besoin de votre nom, de votre adresse et de certains renseignements qui permettront de vous identifier. Avant ou au moment de la cueillette de renseignements personnels, nous vous aviserons de la raison de cette cueillette. Nous pouvons utiliser vos renseignements personnels pour les raisons suivantes :

• Pour nous assurer que nos dossiers sont à jour;
• Pour établir et administrer votre compte;
• Pour effectuer vos transactions ou vous fournir le service requis;
• Pour maintenir, stocker, consigner et déterminer les renseignements au sujet de votre compte;
• Pour vérifier des renseignements antérieurs, selon le cas;
• Pour vous fournir, à vous et à votre représentant, des renseignements sur votre compte;
• Pour répondre à vos besoins d’investissement;
• Pour évaluer votre admissibilité à un service précis;
• Pour protéger les intérêts de Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel, comme le recouvrement de dettes; et
• Pour satisfaire aux exigences juridiques et réglementaires, notamment les exigences de déclaration de revenus l’Agence du revenu Canada.

Haut de la page


À qui divulguons-nous vos renseignements personnels?  
Vos renseignements personnels seront uniquement utilisés aux fins convenues pour nous aider à vous offrir le meilleur service qui soit. Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel peut aussi fournir vos renseignements personnels à des tiers uniquement dans le but de répondre à vos exigences de service. Les tiers auxquels nous fournissons vos renseignements personnels sont par exemple :

• Votre représentant financier (ex. comptable…);
• D'autres établissements financiers, y compris des agences d’évaluation du crédit;
• Des sociétés affiliées à La Société de Gestion AGF Limitée;
• Des fournisseurs externes qui procurent des services administratifs ou autres à notre entreprise;
• Les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux du Canada, des organismes gouvernementaux, des organismes de réglementation; et
• D'autres établissements légalement obligés.

Les ententes conclues entre Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel et ses fournisseurs externes de services servent à mettre en place des mesures appropriées de contrôle et de protection afin de protéger vos renseignements personnels. Nos fournisseurs externes de services peuvent de temps à autre offrir des contrats de sous-traitance pour l'exécution de tâches administratives à d'autres fournisseurs dont les bureaux ne sont pas au Canada, et demander l'accès à certains renseignements personnels pour l'exécution de ces services. Dans ce cas, il incombe aux fournisseurs de Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel de prévoir des mesures de sécurité et de contrôle visant à protéger vos renseignements personnels contre l'utilisation non autorisée, la perte, le vol, l'altération et la destruction.


Divulgation de vos renseignements personnels quand la loi l'exige ou le permet 
Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel peut être tenue de fournir vos renseignements personnels en réponse à un mandat de perquisition, une ordonnance judiciaire ou toute autre requête prévue par la loi. Nous pouvons aussi divulguer vos renseignements personnels pour nous aider à recouvrer une somme que vous nous devez.


Obtenir votre consentement
Avant de vous fournir des services vous devrez remplir une demande d’ouverture de compte qui comprend des renseignements sur le client. Ce document vous explique la façon dont les renseignements personnels que vous fournissez seront utilisés. En signant et en retournant ce document, vous consentez à la divulgation de vos renseignements personnels. Votre consentement peut également être obtenu verbalement quand vous fournissez vos renseignements personnels. Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel n'utilisera pas ces renseignements sans votre consentement et les utilisera seulement aux fins convenues au moment de la cueillette.


Retirer votre consentement 
Vous pouvez retirer votre consentement pour l'utilisation de vos renseignements personnels en communiquant avec Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel en tout temps. Des exigences légales ou autres peuvent vous empêcher de retirer votre consentement. De plus, la décision de retirer votre consentement pourrait fortement limiter les produits ou services que Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel est en mesure de vous offrir.

Haut de la page


Pourquoi recueillons-nous des renseignements à votre sujet auprès d’autres personnes? 
Nous pouvons obtenir des renseignements à votre sujet auprès de tierces parties avec votre consentement, ce qui nous permet de déterminer votre admissibilité à nos services. L’accès à ces renseignements nous permet de vous fournir la documentation et l’assistance dont vous avez besoin. 

Par exemple, pour transférer des titres en nature, nous devons communiquer avec votre courtier et/ou dépositaire. Nous aurons peut-être aussi besoin de déterminer la valeur et la pertinence des titres à transférer. Il est donc possible que nous ayons à communiquer avec d’autres institutions financières afin d’obtenir les renseignements appropriés. Nous pourrions également communiquer avec d’autres tierces parties pour vérifier les renseignements que vous nous avez fournis.


Accès à vos renseignements personnels et exactitude de vos renseignements personnels  
Sur demande, Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel vous donnera accès à vos renseignements personnels. De plus, nous pouvons vous fournir une liste de tiers auxquels vos renseignements personnels ont été fournis. Vous pouvez communiquer avec notre agent de la protection de la vie privée comme il est indiqué plus loin dans la présente#.

Si vous désirez modifier ou mettre à jour vos renseignements personnels, vous pouvez en faire la demande en tout temps. Veuillez noter que nous ne pouvons modifier que les renseignements personnels qui sont nécessaires pour satisfaire aux fins convenues.

Dans certains cas, Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel ne pourra peut-être pas vous donner accès à des renseignements précis. Par exemple : i) des renseignements qui font référence à d'autres personnes; ii) des renseignements contenant des informations exclusives qui sont confidentielles à Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel ou à ses filiales; iii) des renseignements qui ont été détruits; ou iv) des renseignements qui sont trop coûteux à récupérer.


Où gardons-nous vos renseignements personnels? 
Vos renseignements personnels peuvent être conservés en format électronique ou papier dans les bureaux de Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel, de ses filiales ou de ses fournisseurs externes de services. Nos fournisseurs externes de services peuvent de temps à autre offrir des contrats de sous-traitance pour l'exécution de tâches administratives à d'autres fournisseurs dont les bureaux ne sont pas au Canada, et demander l'accès à certains renseignements personnels pour l'exécution de ces services.


Protection de vos renseignements personnels 
Chez Doherty & Associates Investment Counsel, il existe des politiques, procédures, directives et normes pour protéger vos renseignements personnels conformément aux règles de confidentialité applicables, y compris la loi fédérale connue sous le nom de Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques.

Nos systèmes sont soumis à des normes strictes contre l’accès non autorisé, l'altération, la reproduction, la destruction, la divulgation, la perte ou le vol.

Nos employés sont tenus de respecter le code de déontologie, la politique de confidentialité et de protection des renseignements concernant la société. Nos fournisseurs de services ont accès à vos renseignements personnels pour leur permettre de s'acquitter de leurs tâches reliées au service que vous recevez. Nous avons établi des directives pour nous assurer que nos fournisseurs de services, agents et filiales respectent nos normes de sécurité, et leurs contrats stipulent qu’ils sont tenus de respecter la confidentialité et la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les renseignements personnels obtenus sur votre personne ne seront utilisés qu'aux fins convenues au moment de la cueillette et seront conservés tant que nous en aurons besoin pour vous offrir le service pertinent ou selon les exigences de la loi.

Des mesures de sécurité telles que mot de passe, accès à nos bureaux et à nos fichiers, sécurité de l'accès physique et chiffrement des données ont été mises en place pour protéger vos renseignements personnels contre l'accès non autorisé, l'altération, la perte, le vol ou l'utilisation malveillante.

Haut de la page



Plaintes  
Les clients peuvent adresser leurs plaintes concernant un compte à leur gestionnaire personnel, au responsable principal des plaintes ou au responsable de la conformité en envoyant leur grief à l'adresse info@doherty.ca. Pour les plaintes relatives à un problème de confidentialité, les clients doivent envoyer un message à l'adresse privacy@agf.com. Dans le cas où une plainte ne pourrait pas être résolue, un service indépendant de résolution des litiges est disponible gratuitement, en coordination avec le responsable principal de la conformité de Doherty. 



Résolution des plaintes 
Si vous avez une plainte à propos d'un service ou d'un produit, veuillez communiquer avec nous :

Doherty & Associates Ltd
56 rue Sparks, bureau 700
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 1A9
info@doherty.ca

Si vous devez nous communiquer des renseignements personnels sensibles, il est préférable de ne pas le faire par courriel.

Renseignements à indiquer

  • L'objet de votre plainte;
  • La date à laquelle cet événement s'est produit;
  • Les mesures auxquelles vous vous attendez (par exemple, remboursement, excuses, rectification du compte).

Aidez-nous à traiter votre plainte dans les meilleurs délais

  • Faites-nous part de votre plainte le plus rapidement possible.
  • Communiquez-nous sans attendre tout renseignement supplémentaire nécessaire.
  • Conservez des exemplaires de toute documentation pertinente, comme des lettres, des courriels et des notes de conversations que vous avez eues avec nous.

Accusé de réception de votre plainte

Nous donnerons suite à votre plainte par écrit et au plus tôt, généralement dans un délai de cinq jours ouvrables après réception de votre plainte. Nous serons peut-être amenés à vous demander des clarifications ou des informations supplémentaires qui nous aideront à résoudre l'affaire.

Haut de la page

Communication de notre décision

Nous faisons généralement part de notre décision par écrit dans un délai de 90 jours après réception de votre plainte. Cette décision comprendra les éléments suivants :

  • Un résumé de la plainte, ainsi que les résultats de notre enquête;
  • Notre décision de résoudre votre plainte en vous faisant une offre ou de la rejeter, ainsi que les raisons ayant mené à cette décision.

Décision tardive

Si nous sommes dans l'impossiblité de vous fournir une solution dans un délai de 90 jours :

  • Nous vous informerons du retard;
  • Nous vous expliquerons la raison de ce retard;
  • Nous vous indiquerons une nouvelle date à laquelle nous rendrons notre décision.

Il se peut que vous puissiez bénéficier du service indépendant de résolution des litiges offert par l'Ombudsman des Services Bancaires et d’Investissement (OSBI).

Si vous n'obtenez pas une réponse satisfaisante de notre part

Il se peut que vous puissiez bénéficier du service indépendant de résolution des litiges offert par OSBI.

Si vous résidez au Québec

Vous pouvez faire appel au service de médiation gratuit dispensé par l'Autorité des marchés financiers.

Conseils juridiques

À tout moment, vous avez le droit de consulter un avocat ou de chercher un autre moyen de résoudre votre litige. Un avocat peut vous conseiller sur les différentes options qui s'offrent à vous. Toutefois, vous disposez d'un temps limité pour intenter une action en justice. Si vous tardez à agir, vos recours ainsi que vos droits pourraient être limités.

Déférer une plainte à l'OSBI

Il se peut que vous puissiez bénéficier du service indépendant de résolution des litiges offert par OSBI si :

  • Nous ne vous fournissons pas de solution dans les 90 jours suivant le dépôt de votre plainte; ou
  • Vous n'obtenez pas de réponse satisfaisante de notre part.

L'OSBI peut recommander une indemnisation allant jusqu'à 350 000 $.

Le service de l'OSBI est accessible aux clients de notre société. Vous avez néanmoins le droit de recourir au service de résolution des litiges de votre choix, et ce, à vos frais, ou de porter l'affaire devant un tribunal. Veuillez noter que vous disposez d'un temps limité pour porter une action en justice.

Haut de la page

 

Qui peut faire appel à l'OSBI?

Vous avez le droit de faire appel à l'OSBI si :

  • Votre plainte concerne une activité de négociation ou de consultation assurée par notre société ou par l'un de nos représentants;
  • Vous nous avez fait part de votre plainte moins de six ans après avoir découvert ou autrement pris connaissance de l'événement à l'origine de votre plainte;
  • Vous déposez un dossier de plainte auprès de l'OSBI dans les délais mentionnés ci-dessous.

Délais

  •  Si nous ne vous faisons pas part de notre décision dans un délai de 90 jours, vous pouvez déférer votre plainte à l'OSBI à tout moment, une fois la période de 90 jours écoulée.
  • Si vous n'obtenez pas de réponse satisfaisante de notre part, vous disposez de 180 jours après que nous vous avons communiqué notre décision pour déférer votre plainte à l'OSBI.

Déposer une plainte auprès de l'OSBI

Communiquer avec l'OSBI

Courriel :  ombudsman@obsi.ca

Téléphone : 1-888-451-4519 ou 416-287-2877 à Toronto

Enquête de l'OSBI

L'OSBI travaille en toute confidentialité et de façon informelle. Il ne s'agit pas d'une action en justice et vous n'avez pas besoin de faire appel à un avocat.

Dans le cadre de son enquête, l'OSBI peut être amenée à vous interroger ou à interroger des représentants de notre société. Nous sommes tenus de coopérer aux enquêtes menées par l'OSBI.

Renseignements requis par l'OSBI pour vous aider

L'OSBI sera plus à même de vous aider si vous fournissez tous les renseignements nécessaires dans les plus brefs délais, y compris ce qui suit :

  • Votre nom et vos coordonnées;
  • Notre raison sociale et nos coordonnées;
  • Les noms et les coordonnées de tous nos représentants qui sont liés à votre plainte;
  • Les détails relatifs à votre plainte;
  • Toute la documentation pertinente, ainsi que toute correspondance ou note de discussion entretenue avec notre société.

Recommandations de l'OSBI

Une fois son enquête terminée, l'OSBI fera part de ses recommandations à notre société ainsi qu'à vous-même. Celles-ci ne sont contraignantes pour aucune des parties.

L'OSBI peut recommander une indemnisation allant jusqu'à 350 000 $. Si votre plainte concerne un montant supérieur, vous devrez accepter cette limite pour toute indemnisation que vous recevrez de la part de l'OSBI. Si vous souhaitez réclamer davantage que 350 000 $, il est préférable d'envisager un autre recours, telle qu'une action en justice.

Pour tout renseignement complémentaire à propos de l'OSBI, visitez www.obsi.ca

Haut de la page